10 Things I Love About Fall

I’m going to be honest, my brain is fried. Today, prior to writing this post, I cranked out an entire five paragraph essay in an hour and a half. And I still have to outline another essay before the end of the day. Oh, the irony of the writer complaining about writing. That being said, this blog post is pretty short. #sorrynotsorry

Fall is my favorite season, and here are ten reasons why:

1. It’s cold, but not too cold.

This time of year features the best temperature. I prefer cold weather, but winter is just ridiculously cold (at least in Michigan). I can finally pull out my box of flannel shirts and fuzzy socks! There are few things on this earth as satisfying as sitting by the window cocooned in a blanket, drinking hot tea, and reading a good book.

anigif_sub-buzz-20506-1474405620-2
Me trying to be cool.

2. TEA!!!!

Is it even necessary for me to elaborate? In the summer you can drink hot tea, but it’s not the same. During fall, I can drink hot tea and feel it bring warmth to my inner being. Tell me that’s not an incredible feeling.

3. Everything is aesthetically pleasing.

The leaves are an incredible array of the magnificent hues hand painted by our creator. The overcast weather is perfect for moody photographs. Autumn acoustic playlists are THE BEST. A combination of fall colors, overcast weather, and acoustic music equals the most aesthetically pleasing day in the entire world.

giphy (6)

4. School starts

I know this will apply to no one else, but school starts in the fall. Which automatically makes fall great. I LOVE learning therefore, I LOVE school. (Yes, I am well aware this makes me quite odd). Honestly, you guys should see me when September hits, the excitement is so intense I don’t even need coffee for a day or two.

5. NaNoWriMo

For those of you who don’t know, NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. This is a worldwide event where writers try to write 50,000 words during the month of November. This is much more challenging that you might think. It’s a really exciting time for me because each year I get the chance to beat the previous years word count.

6. Pumpkin Spice

Remember that imagery of sitting by the window with hot tea, a good book, and a blanket? Now, add a piece of pumpkin bread or pumpkin pie. Are you drooling yet?

tenor (3)
Me too.

7. Thanksgiving

The older I get the more I appreciate spending time with my family. That being said, family holidays, like Thanksgiving, are so much fun for me. I love seeing my family and spending quality time with them. Plus, MORE PUMPKIN PIE. Need I say more???

8. It’s getting closer to Christmas

Christmas is my favorite holiday. I love the Christmas music, the spirit, the decorations. I love all of it. More than anything, it’s a chance to celebrate the birth of our Lord and Savior, and if there ever was a holiday worth creating it was Christmas.

9. Football

I love watching football. Even though basketball is my favorite sport to play, I can’t stand watching it. To be honest, it’s almost impressive I still enjoy watching the Lions with how poorly their seasons have gone….

10. Seeing God’s glory

I saved the best for last. As an artist, vivid displays of color are highly appealing to me (which makes me wonder why I don’t like wearing bright colors….). The magnificent display of color fall produces reminds me of how great our God is. He orchestrated all of this! He hand painted every single leaf, and designed each tree to let their leaves fall at this time of year. Isn’t that incredible?


What is your favorite part of fall?

facebook-letter-logo_318-40258 23931 download

2 thoughts on “10 Things I Love About Fall

  1. I’m definitely with you on the tea thing…I drink tea year round but it starts becoming more cozy and enjoyable around this time.

    I think one of my favorite things is the cool, damp, gray days. I know gray skies aren’t popular, but I find there to be something very comforting about gray skies, especially contrasting with a mix of green and the beginnings of fall colors with yellow, brown, and orange, red, and purple leaves.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

